Wednesday, 17 April 2024
SportsAUS vs PAK Test: Pakistan's surrender before Cummins-Starc's maa, Kangaroos' big win...

AUS vs PAK Test: Pakistan’s surrender before Cummins-Starc’s maa, Kangaroos’ big win in Melbourne Test | leader

Leaders Online Desk: Australia beat Pakistan by 79 runs in the Melbourne Test to take a 2-0 lead in the three-match series. Chasing the target of 317 runs set by the Kangaroos on the fourth day of the match, the Pakistan team was bowled out for 237 runs. Australian captain Pat Cummins was awarded as ‘Player of the Match’ for his ‘double punch of wickets’ in the match. He managed to take a total of 10 wickets in both the innings. With this, he became the 10th Australian bowler to take 250 or more wickets in Test cricket.

Pakistan were cruising towards victory on the fourth day of the Melbourne Test. But Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc gave Australia a strong comeback. These two fast bowlers hit the balls on fire. Before which Pakistan batsmen literally surrendered. Cummins-Starc dismissed Pakistan’s last five batsmen for just 18 runs to seal victory.

Cummins took 5-5 wickets in both Test innings. Starc took 4 wickets in the second innings. From Pakistan, captain Shan Masood (60) and Agha Salman (50), Babar Azam (41) and Mohammad Rizwan (35) struggled to avoid defeat but failed.

Earlier, Australia opened the day 187 for 6 on the fourth day. Alex Carey took the team’s score to 262 with the help of the bottom batsmen. Carey played a brilliant knock of 53 runs. It was on the strength of his innings that Australia managed to set a winning target of 317 runs against Pakistan.

Pakistan got off to a poor start in reply. Openers Abdullah Shafiq (4) and Imam-ul-Haq (12) were dismissed cheaply. After this, captain Shan Masood shared a partnership of 61 runs with Babar Azam for the third wicket. Masood scored 60 runs in 71 balls with the help of seven fours. He was caught by Cumminscurvy Smith. At the same time, Babar Azam scored 41 runs off 79 balls with the help of 4 fours and was dismissed by Hazlewood. Saud Shakeel (25), Mohammad Rizwan and Agha Salman countered the Kangaroos’ penetrating attack. But the Australian bowlers managed to send them to the table after some intervals. After that, Pakistan’s last three batsmen Aamir Jamal, Shaheen Afridi and Mir Hamza were dismissed for a wicket. Along with this, the host Australia has won the second Test in a row and has taken a winning lead in the series.

Popular content

Latest article

More article