Thursday, 23 May 2024
SportsICC Mens T20 Team 2023: ICC's best T20 team announced, Suryakumar Yadav...

ICC Mens T20 Team 2023: ICC’s best T20 team announced, Suryakumar Yadav selected as captain | leader

Leaders Online Desk : ICC Mens T20 Team 2023 : The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the T20 squad for the year 2023. Four Indian players have got place in this team. Suryakumar Yadav has been entrusted with the captaincy. Apart from him, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ravi Bishnoi and Arshdeep Singh are part of the Indian squad. Not a single player from Pakistan has been selected in the ICC squad.

Jaiswal-Salt opener

The team includes two players from Zimbabwe, one each from New Zealand, England, West Indies, Ireland and Uganda. India’s Yashasvi Jaiswal and England’s Phil Salt have been selected as the opening pair. Both are adept at scoring runs quickly. Nicholas Pooran of West Indies has been placed as wicket keeper and he has been preferred to bat at third position. After him, Suryakumar Yadav has got the fourth position. Mark Chapman (New Zealand) is fifth and all-rounder Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe) is sixth. ICC has also made Ugandan Alpesh Ramjani a part of the squad. In 2023 he scored 382 runs in 30 matches at an average of 31.83 and took 55 wickets at an excellent average of 8.98. ICC has given him a chance to play at number seven in the batting order. The bowlers in the team include Mark Adair (Ireland), Ravi Bishnoi (India), Richard Nagarwa (Zimbabwe) and Arshdeep Singh (India). (ICC Mens T20 Team 2023)

Most runs scored by Surya in 2023 (ICC Mens T20 Team 2023)

In 2023, Suryakumar played 18 matches in T20 cricket and scored 733 runs at an average of 48.86 and a strike rate of 156. In between, he scored 2 centuries and 5 fifties. He has been the highest run scorer in the last year.

A remarkable performance by Jaiswal

Yashasvi Jaiswal also excelled in Tests and T20 Internationals. In 2023 he scored 430 runs in 14 innings at a strike rate of 159. He scored an unbeaten 84* off 51 balls against the West Indies in Florida and hit a 100 off just 49 balls against Nepal. The young left-handed batsman ended the year with a 25-ball 53 in the home T20 series against Australia. Then scored 60 off 41 balls against South Africa in Johannesburg. (ICC Mens T20 Team 2023)

Arshdeep Singh took 26 wickets

Left-arm fast bowler Arshdeep Singh took 26 wickets in 21 matches in 2023. He has done well in powerplay and death overs. He played 21 matches in 2023. During this time he took 26 wickets at an average of 24.46. His economy rate is 9.26 and 3 wickets in 20 runs is his best performance. Bishnoi on the other hand played 11 T20 matches in 2023 and took 18 wickets in these 11 innings at an excellent average of 17.61. Its economy rate remained 7.20. His best performance was three wickets for 24 runs.

ICC Team of the Year 2023 as follows

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Phil Salt, Nicholas Pooran (wicketkeeper), Suryakumar Yadav (captain), Mark Chapman, Sikandar Raza, Alpesh Ramjani, Mark Adair, Ravi Bishnoi, Richard Nagarwa and Arshdeep Singh.

Popular content

Latest article

More article