Wednesday, 17 April 2024
SportsNZ vs BAN T20 : New Zealand-Bangladesh T20 series draw, Kiwis win...

NZ vs BAN T20 : New Zealand-Bangladesh T20 series draw, Kiwis win last match | leader

Leaders Online Desk: New Zealand beat Bangladesh by 17 runs under the Duckworth-Lewis rule in the third T20I to level the three-match series. A 46-run partnership between Mitchell Santner and Jimmy Neesham was crucial in the Kiwis’ win.

New Zealand captain Mitchell Santner won the toss and decided to bowl first. The Kiwi bowlers justified his decision and made the Bangladesh team all out for 110 runs in 19.2 overs. None of the Bangladeshi batsmen could reach the 20-run mark. Captain Najmul Hussain Shanto top scored with 17 runs. Tauheed scored 16, Afif Hussain 14, while Rishad Hussain and Rony Talukdar scored 10 runs each. Shamim Hussain returned to the pavilion with nine runs and Tanveer Islam scored eight. Soumya Sarkar and Mehdi Hasan managed to score only four runs each.

Dangerous bowling from Santner

The New Zealand bowlers performed brilliantly in Mount Maunganui. Tim Southee, Ben Sears and Adam Milne took a wicket each early on. Captain Santner then went on a rampage and took four wickets. In between he conceded only 16 runs in four overs. Saudi, Sears and Milne also managed to get a wicket each in the end.

Chasing a target of 111 runs, New Zealand scored 95 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in 14.4 overs. After this the game could not continue due to rain and New Zealand won the match by 17 runs based on the Duckworth-Lewis rule. Finn Allen top scored for Kiwi team with 38 runs. James Neesham remained unbeaten on 28 and Mitchell Santner on 18. Tim Seifert, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman and Glenn Phillips each scored a run. Mehdi Hasan and Shariful Islam took two wickets each for Bangladesh.

Popular content

Latest article

More article